UNITWIN UNESCO CHAIR - The City that Educates and Transforms

With the approval of UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, the UNESCO UniTwin Chair - The City that Educates and Transforms - was set up, unified by the International Cooperation Program, whose action will be carried out by RICET - International Network for the City that Educates and Transforms, led by ISEC Lisboa and which includes 12 national higher education institutions from Brazil and Guinea-Bissau.

This Chair will be launched on 28 February, 2023, in Sala do Arquivo, Paços do Concelho, Lisbon City Hall, in a solemn session, days before RICET begins its activity, which aims to fulfill the following objectives:

  • The promotion of an integrated system of research, training and documentation activities in the area of Educating Cities and the dissemination of knowledge about the concept of an educating city, in order to enable governance models in line with the SDGs.
  • Research and reflection on practices based on governance models inspired by the concept of Educating Cities and their responses to the emerging problems in societies, particularly from the perspective of consolidating democracies.
  • The creation of a Knowledge Network that allows local governments to offer a diverse range of equitable and fair responses to the problems of contemporary society.
  • Cooperation and collaboration in the construction of knowledge societies through different strategies of educating cities.

The City that Educates and Transforms International Network is made up of the following founding members:
Instituto Superior de Educação e Ciências - ISEC Lisboa, Portugal
FACED/Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, UFRGS, Brasil
Universidade Regional Integrada do Alto Uruguai e das Missões, URI, Brasil
Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, UFMG, Brasil
Universidade Federal da Bahia, UFAB, Brasil
Universidade Passo Fundo, UPF, Brasil
Universidade do Vale do Rio dos Sinos, Unisinos, Brasil
Universidade Franciscano, UFN /Santa Maria, Brasil
Universidade Presbiteriana Mackenzie, Brasil
Instituto Politécnico Nova Esperança da Guiné Bissau
Centro Universitário Internacional, Uninter/ Curitiba/PR, Brasil
Fundação Anísio Teixeira, Brasil